Danielle Keeler

think about it.

Don’t you dare pop my bubble

with 7 comments

Everyone has a personal space bubble, right?  Some people’s bubbles are smaller than others.  Mine is generally pretty small–I like hugs, I like messing around with my friends, I’m not afraid to wrestle my brother–but if you pop it, you better start running for your life.

There’s only a few things you can do to pop my bubble:

One, you can insist on hugging me when I push you away.  I have guy friends who do this, and I know it offends them when I freak out, but I can’t help it.  If I push you away, it’s because I don’t feel like being touched.  If you try to touch me anyway, I kick into auto-pilot, and that’s not pleasant for anyone.  It makes me feel like shit, and it makes you angry.  So just don’t do it.

Two, you can touch my shoulders without my permission.  I don’t know what it is about this–but I can’t stand it.  I’m not talking a friendly shoulder squeeze–and yes, my boyfriend is allowed to put his arm around me.  That’s not what I mean.  What I mean is: don’t rest your hand on my shoulder.  Don’t come up from behind and touch my shoulder.  Do not try to rub my shoulders while I’m driving without telling me (cough Jared cough).  Because I will freak out.  I don’t know why, but I will.

Three, you can grab my wrist.  I attribute this to when I was little, and my brother used to twist my wrist when I annoyed him.  If I try to pull it away, let go.  I don’t want to have a panic attack and neither do you, so if you have any common sense in your head, let me go.

Those are my main three.  Now, I’m interested to know what yours are.  Comment and tell me, and I’ll subscribe to the blog of my favorite comment.  Go.

Written by Danielle Keeler

August 4, 2011 at 5:40 pm

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I agree with the touching thing, shoulders, back, basically anything I can’t see freaks me out. Also when people raise their hand near my head. It sounds pycho but my older sister use to hit the back of my head so I flinch everytime someone’s near it. Finally when people use texting terms in real life. I have a friend who says LOL and BRB and everytime she does I want to smack her..

    silentsarcasm

    August 4, 2011 at 6:14 pm

  2. I think my space bubble is really small because I’m already very uncomfortable when someone gets physically close to me with any part of their body within my vision. So anything like a random stranger motioning to give me a handshake or a wave above my head makes me feel really uncomfortable.

    If a person actually touches me (including anywhere that I can’t see like my back or shoulders etc) then I my feeling of uncomfort intensifies and I may likely scream!

    Once a guy friend who had a crush on me tried to hold hands with me when we were crossing the road. I immediately and naturally flung him away and in doing so, accidentally hit him on the head. Haha our relationship was really awkward after that.

    ACW

    August 4, 2011 at 7:27 pm

    • I think is my favorite one, just because of the little story at the end (: it made me smile. So now I’m off to subscribe to your blog :D

      Danielle Keeler

      August 6, 2011 at 11:59 am

      • Thanks! :) Hope you like my blog and feel free to comment too :)

        ACW

        August 6, 2011 at 1:23 pm

  3. One: Don’t talk to me if I’m not talking to you. It’s more than likely because I’m in a bad mood.

    Two: Don’t start randomly massaging me then go “Oh you’re really tense”, well yes that’s because you’d randomly started groping me, I was fine beforehand.

    Three: Don’t stroke my head when I’ve just had it shaved, yes it’s short and it may feel nice or weird but it’s f’n annoying!

    You already subscribe to my blog but I thought I’d share anyway.

    Pete Howorth

    August 5, 2011 at 11:55 am

  4. Oooh competitive commenting.. hmm something original.. no can’t think of anything ;-) I hope Jared has finally got the message. A thing that annoys me more so is people who have no concept of their own bubble. You know the people who stop dead in the middle of the isle of the supermarket for no apparent reason, who then give you a dirty look if you bump into them. People who have no concept of their impact on the world around them.

    Top post by the way Only bubble issue I have is to do with smelly people on buses, who always sit next to me!

    Slowlycreepingdeath

    August 5, 2011 at 4:18 pm

  5. Maybe it’s my own personal thing, but there are very few people I allow to even get close to me…both metaphorically and literally. Touch is intimate to me. If I’m not close to someone, touch is a definite no-no. It’s not rude or inconsiderate to expect people to respect you and your personal space.

    Martha Abernathy

    August 16, 2011 at 1:28 am


Leave a Reply

